Mahogany runabout first time build questions

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by nbehlman, Mar 8, 2012.

1. nbehlman

nbehlman Junior Member

My first boat building project is going to be a challenge. I am an engineer by profession, and I am confident I can make the right design decisions, however I have only build model boats in the past and I want to hear from those of you with more experience building and maintaining wooden boats. I plan to build a scaled down (14ft) chris-craft style runabout. Here is a mock-up picture I made.
    http://nbehlman.com/mockup.png
    I have a number of questions...
    - I have seen arguments for 3M 5200 vs. epoxy. I don't care how smooth the ride is, I just want my boat to be well preserved and light. What should I go with?
    - Does a polyurethane clearcoat protect as well as epoxy?
    - I think I saw someone lay lightweight fiberglass over the outside of a mahogany hull. I know it's glass, but is it really that transparent? I would like to reinforce the bottom with fiberglass. Should I glass it over on the outside?
    - I would like to save cost by using a plywood in lieu of mahogany. I have seen people on the internet use ribbon stripe tiama plywood and it looks pretty good to me. My concern is that the veneer is very thin and I will ruin it by sanding too low. Since I will be planking diagonally first, I think I can do all the fairing, sanding, filling etc. on the subplanking and lay the outer planking down very carefully. Does anyone have experience with this type of veneer plywood?
    - I was planning on using okume marine plywood for the subplanking. How should I bond the outer planking to the subplanking?
    - What kind of fasteners should I use? Bronze screws? Stainless?
    - Can anyone recommend a good source for buying mahogany and/or marine plywood?
    I would like to hear your input! Thanks.

1 person likes this.
  2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member