Using 3d boat design software

Discussion in 'Software' started by William Vance, May 9, 2011.

1. William Vance

William Vance Junior Member

I am an experienced building designer, having used Autocad software for a number of years. I am now in the process of replicating the hull of a long sunken 62 ft wooden commercial fishing boat. I will not be building the actual boat, but will be building a 1/30 scale model as accurately as is possible. I have many pictures of the boat in dry dock and at sea, so dimensions etc. are pretty accurate, plus the boat owner is still available for questions.
    I have purchased "3d Boat Design" software and have played with it some, but am not sure of how to proceed with the hull design. I merely want to sculpt the hull to match the pictures, and be able to produce a table of offsets with which to design the frames and sheer line.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

Welcome aboard, William!

I'm not familiar with the program you're referring to, but having used Freeship a little I have some idea of the process. Basically, you start with the known dimensions and then eyeball the rest. If you had the actual hull to measure that would help, but without it your final shape will have to be just good enough. Once you have the hull modeled in Freeship, and I assume your software too, it can then spit out a table of offsets or frame drawings for you.

If you want to post the information you have I can probably at least get a staqqrt on it in Freeship.

3. mick_allen

mick_allen -

unfortunately, "3d boat design" is freeship packaged up by an opportunist for $.
    For info how to use it, search for the many freeship threads.

4. William Vance

Thanks to Mick Allen and cthippo for your replies to my post re: "3D Boat Design" Mick says that 3d boat design is freeship by another name, so will search out freeship threads and see what I can find.

5. William Vance