Trimaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by remora, Jul 15, 2019.

1. remora

remora Junior Member

Hello All,

I am not an expert on composite but will be taking some class and seminars as the subject interests me.
    I have seen trimaran design in Philippines using solid fiberglass (flat panel) as stringers/frame. It is designed the same concept and structural as wooden hull motor bancas.
    Is flat panel stringers any good? What about buckling issues, compared to foam cored or hollow fiberglass stringer?
    Any input is appreciated.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 15, 2019
  2. trip the light fandango

trip the light fandango Senior Member

Hi Remora and welcome, I use recycled fibreglass so your photos are of interest to me. If each stringer has a brace glassed in, the same distance apart as the stringers are, a very strong and light frame can be made. the braces will stop the stringers from twisting. When you look at the centre deck on the first picture you can see what it would look like. This allows two skins an inner and an outer to be laid., it is very hard to lay fibreglass matt when you are under it so panels with tags would be made up to fit for the cabin roof. and glassed into place before the deck itself. It would be very time consuming fitting and glassing all of the braces but small batches of glass and matt can be continuously produced which suits fibreglassing ,especially in warm weather ,and with a team of workers. All the stress points will need to be doubled or tripled up, and triangular/ diagonal braces within the box shapes you make will help reinforce stress areas also It's a nice frame , very stick insect/praying mantis.
    It will be interesting to read what all the people with more experience than me think. Good luck
    Good luck

3. remora

remora Junior Member

Hello Fandango,
    You are very correct, layup will be time consuming and tedious.