Transom rebuild question - Avon searider SR5.4

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by foivos, May 2, 2024.

1. foivos

foivos Junior Member

Dear All,

this is my first post, and I am novice in boat repairs (this is my first project). I am moving forward super slowly (as, super carefully), and I am learning a lot along the way. I have a question with regards to "how much should I cut" of the internal skin in my transom repair in a way I won't damage the structural integrity of the boat (thinking geometry-wise here).

The boat is an Avon Searider SR5.4 where the floor and transom where completely rotten and required replacement. I have read a couple of books on boat repairs and lots of manuals (plus a bunch of video tutorials - some of which I trust) however I still have some questions tailored to my project. This particular boat has a flooding hull design and I hope to restore it to its original state.

I decided to cut the internal skin (since I would replace the floor anyway) to remove the rotten plywood of my transom, as per other peoples advice and various similar projects I found online.

My Question is "If I cut completely the internal skin of the transom, will this cause problems of structural integrity in the corners / joints"? I have to cut in order to insert the new core material (either plywood or thermolite - haven't decided yet, probably thermolite). I have to note there is also a crack on the port side of the transom, that I have some ideas how to go about but please any comments / help most welcome. Please note, I am learning as I go.

Here is the present state of the transom. In my mind, there are two options for cutting. Leaving part of the internal skin of the transom, but then this requires to cut the plywood/thermolite to fit in inside the transom and glue it on he external skin.

cut2_transom.png

The other option is to cut completely the internal skin of the transom, which will allow the plywood/thermolite core to be inserted in 1 piece.