Thoughts on hiring a naval architect....

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by lascraigus, Jan 21, 2010.

1. lascraigus

lascraigus Junior Member

I have no experience in yacht design, but I do enjoy the research and all that jazz (call me crazy, but I should have been an engineer).........I was wondering if anyone here would have any idea typically how much would it cost to get a naval architect to review something like this as to it's worthiness to one day float, sink, or any other intermediate state of rest.......
    just fyi:
    beam: 7ft, 6in
    LOA:16ft
    draft: 3ft, 6in
    mast height: 22ft

Attached Files:

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

Interesting concept! I'd suggest you e-mail Eric Sponberg-he is very knowledgeable regarding performance sailing designs and a real nice guy as well-he'll help you.

Eric W. Sponberg
    Naval Architect
    Sponberg Yacht Design Inc.
    St. Augustine, Florida
    www.sponbergyachtdesign.com

3. lewisboats

lewisboats Obsessed Member

At a glance...you may wish to provide a flatter bottom so the boat can plane. with that round bottom there isn't much lifting surface to support the boat at speed. Most performance hulls like that have a wide flat-ish bottom with a tich of rocker but with almost a straight though slightly upward run aft. This also gives some stability to stand up to the sail too. You don't show a keel but long twin rudders...this would put your Center of Lateral resistance too far aft and make the boat uncontrollable if there wasn't a keel further forward under the sail.

Just an observation.

4. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

You are probably better off just sticking it up here for comment. I do not see any great merit to it but others might or at least be prepared to give more detailed comment.

Other ways are to state what you would like to achieve rather than having something in mind that you want detailed. It could end up a dog but at least you created the dog.