Suzuki Dt65 any ideas?

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by Wayne dt65, Apr 10, 2010.

1. Wayne dt65

Wayne dt65 New Member

Hey guys
    I would greatly appreciate some advice. I’m a novice.
    I recently bought a 14 ft Al Shaddai ski boat powered by a Suzuki DT65 (1989). I did the usual. Spark plugs, gearbox oil, new fuel filter, cleaning the carbs etc. The telltale and exhaust under the powerhead both eject a strong jet of cool water while under way, at idle the exhaust becomes more of a spit but the cylinders remain cool and telltale remains steady. Needless to say I do not think there is anything wrong with the impeller.

Initially I only had one problem. I live in South Africa and many of the roads are bad. After towing the boat for a considerable distance the motor would start normally but then stall after a few minutes. It smokes excessively and after a few tries starts and then runs perfectly for the rest of the day. Until I have to transport it again. Could it be 2 stroke oil some how draining into the motor due to the vibration? Taking into account this does not happen at my local dam.

At one stage the boat was not going to be used for at least a month so I decided to run the carbs dry. When I attempted to get the bugger to start again it did not want to know. I discovered a crack in one of the fuel couplers. Unfortunately getting spares up here is next to impossible and I had plans for the following day so I made do… this involved a coin with a hole drilled in it, hose clamp, cable ties and some glue.(don’t ask) the motor started shortly after as per normal.

The following day the engine surged a couple of times. The tach would drop by at least 500 rpm and then return to normal. I fiddled with it checking fuel breather, fuel lines and electrical connections. I eventually got it right and it ran well for the entire long weekend. Though it did tend to smoke a little more than usual while trolling.