Student needs help with TANK TESTING

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by member 14989, Jul 17, 2006.

1. member 14989

member 14989 Junior Member

Im a BE Mech student doing a 2course project on planing hull velocities and planing efficiency (time takes to plane).

At this stage we were thinking of two options -
    i) using a pulley system in a swimming pool (most likely due to time
    constraints)
    ii) constructing a circular tank with a rotating arm on
    connected to the model

- The issues that I was hoping someone could help me with are
    i)using correct scaling laws

ii)whether the size of the models will be substantial enough to measure
    and how to go about measuring it.

iii)measuring of the planing characteristics:two options
    1) I have thought about either visually determining when the
    hulls are planing but thought this may be difficult if there is
    only small differences given the size of the models.

Another option is to attach strain
    gauges to the inside of the model hull and record the forces
    and pressures that are acting on the model and thus determine at
    which point it will be planing graphically.
    Our scale is 1:10, so the model lengths will be around 600-700mm
    waterline length.

Test Conditions

2. member 14989

Test Conditions will be:
    in calm water
    using 2 different hulls, variable deadrise (20-33 degrees) and constant v (20dgrees)
    hulls will be made from a 3D printer which will be hardened using epoxy

3. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

The normal method to determine whether a boat is planing is to measure pitch and heave. It is usually obvious to determine whether the boat is planing or not. However, I haven't heard of much testing on the accelleration properties of planing hulls.

You might have to run a camera down the "tank" at the same speed as the model, and exactly at 90 degrees to the direction of travel, then pick out the points from each video frame

Hope This Helps,

Tim B.