What's the relation of Fr to S/L?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Laranjo123, Sep 21, 2011.

1. Laranjo123

Laranjo123 Previous Member

What's the relation of froude's number to S/L? (noob here)

2. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

Laranjo,

Back in times when I was a student and I wanted to find out a relationship between two variables, no way I would have asked a question like "give me a ready-to-use formula for this". No way. I would have put down the two formulas (for S/L ratio and Froude number in this case), and then after few substitutions and unit conversions I would get the relationship between the two. It's all just an elementary math, and since you are a 5th year student of Naval Architecture you HAVE to be able to do it yourself.
    If you just copy a formula from somewhere around, you won't be able to understand what is that formula actually telling you. For that reason you need to work it out yourself.

I would have understood if that question was asked by a backyard builder who just needs to quickly build his plywood dory, but you are a student and it is your job and duty to study and understand the physics and math governing the world around you.

And to prevent a bashing from other forum members for not giving the answer to your question - I HAVE given the answer in the above reply, just not a ready-to-use one.

3. Laranjo123