Rudder Design in Step File

Discussion in 'Software' started by mmarkpl, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. mmarkpl
    Joined: Aug 2011
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NY

    mmarkpl Junior Member

    I'm in process of restoration my rudder for Beneteou 35s5,
    i have Rudder design in "Step" File and trying to print cross sections,
    can any one in right directions (I'm not are naval engineer or CAD user).
     
  2. SukiSolo
    Joined: Dec 2012
    Posts: 1,270
    Likes: 25, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 271
    Location: Hampshire UK

    SukiSolo Senior Member

    STEP is a format for CAD data exchange, there are several variants but most likely you have a pure surface model. You need to find someone with a half decent CAD system to let you import the model. The easiest way is to use Rhino, just google rhino3d.com - a 30 day trial is possible. Not sure if the import commands work in terms of non native types of file but they probably do.

    You can then convert this to a format for machining ie another CAD format if required for someone to CNC the part. You can also take out 2D sections to a 2D program, however this is best done IF you have some experience of the little quirks in Rhino which is excellent but it is possible to get slightly inaccurate 2D shapes if you do not know how to set the options up correctly.

    All other high end systems, Pro-E, Solid Works etc will also import the model, and let you view it, etc etc.
     
  3. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,518
    Likes: 391, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Could you upload your file here, so we can see if we can do something with it. What you need ?. The more details, the better.
     
  4. mmarkpl
    Joined: Aug 2011
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NY

    mmarkpl Junior Member

    Thank you for you help,
    my location is NY, i have no problem printing cross sections of the rudder on plotter in real dimension, my problem is to find pro CAD operator to prepare
    file for printing.
    I now this sound strange......
     
  5. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,518
    Likes: 391, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Yes, very strange. You have no problem to print cross section. Why, then, you need someone to prepare the files for printing?
     
  6. mmarkpl
    Joined: Aug 2011
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NY

    mmarkpl Junior Member

    i have upload file in IGS format and Zip file
    and i have upload from internet to my computer
    ABViewer, eDravings 2014, Solidview Lite 2015,
    all free or trial version.
    My dilemma is very simple, i have almost zero experience with CAD software,
    and guys in my office have done simple two dimensions blueprints.
    Do any off you gentlemen will point me in right direction to how print in real dimensions cross section of this element, or service on internet to do so?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. SukiSolo
    Joined: Dec 2012
    Posts: 1,270
    Likes: 25, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 271
    Location: Hampshire UK

    SukiSolo Senior Member

    Looks more like those files are Solid Works native, with an IGES export too. Like Tansl, I'm struggling to fully understand the problem. Do you want to print in wax a form to laminate glass over? ie a lost wax process moulding.
    Or do you want a series of sections printed on A0 which you can then use for cutting out a set of formers? Beware of plotter paper/tracing paper shrink with spray mount btw....

    The file would need to be an STL type for creating a wax - but beware the surface may need to be offset by the glass thickness. Same offset problem will exist for making formers. The surface in the model is (most likely) the intended final surface ie no allowance for skin thickness or fastening the rudder post. The offset is not required for a 2 part female mould though.

    If you need to create offset surfaces to allow for the skin and other structure, you will need to put the files into a 3D CAD program. The one I suggested before will do this easily. Just remember to set your units and tolerances, and also print scale 1:1. You will likely need an A0/A1 plotter to do this full size. Some drafting bureaus should be able to do this for you.
     
  8. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,518
    Likes: 391, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    The problem, in my opinion, is that you have the model formed by polymeshes and that's not easy to get any data. See the attachment with three files of different formats. I hope with that you can work on what you need.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. SukiSolo
    Joined: Dec 2012
    Posts: 1,270
    Likes: 25, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 271
    Location: Hampshire UK

    SukiSolo Senior Member

    The Step file is oddly a mesh file as Tansl says, however the IGES file is a surface file. It is mildly corrupted at the lower tip but easy to correct without losing any form. I've put up an image and a dxf of a number of cross sections. This is more than enough to make it from if you get a 2D program onto it.
    BTW I used metric units - it should be around 1800mm long?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mmarkpl
    Joined: Aug 2011
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NY

    mmarkpl Junior Member

    Guys, you are my heroes!!!!
    I am really thankful for you help.
     

  11. mmarkpl
    Joined: Aug 2011
    Posts: 6
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NY

    mmarkpl Junior Member

    Here is my project,
    starting point at list.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.