Rhino - calculating the surface

Discussion in 'Software' started by Maciej, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. Maciej
    Joined: Nov 2004
    Posts: 55
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Poland

    Maciej Junior Member

    Hi,

    I am quite fresh in Rhino but still learning.
    How can I calculate surface area in Rhino ? eg. there are bulkheads in the hull and I would like to calculate surface in m2 for eg material estimation ?

    thanks for help

    maciek
     
  2. CGN
    Joined: Jan 2003
    Posts: 547
    Likes: 9, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 138
    Location: MX

    CGN Senior Member

    Type on the command line "Area", then select the surfaces you want to know the area.
    now, for weight of a bulkhead (as example) at least on V2 there is no way to set a density, so you need to use a calculator or spreadsheet to calculate weight.

    Area (from Rhino) x Thickness x Density of material= Weight

    or...

    Area (from Rhino) x Wt per Sqr m of the material = Weight

    or...

    Convert the Area into a solid

    Volume (From Rhino) x Density = Weight
     
  3. Maciej
    Joined: Nov 2004
    Posts: 55
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Poland

    Maciej Junior Member

    Thanks very much!
    Also I wouldlike to make workshop drawings from Rhino. More or less I know how to make this.
    When I make dimensions in Rhino digits are very small (invisible) if i scale it (bulkhead 2,2mx1.8m) eg. 1:20. Do you think it wil be better to export several elements to eg. Acad?

    thanks
    Maciej
     
  4. CGN
    Joined: Jan 2003
    Posts: 547
    Likes: 9, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 138
    Location: MX

    CGN Senior Member

    I prefer to export the sections form rhino to any CAD program and add dimensions there, I find it easier and friendlier than rhino, but if you like to use Rhino for 2D and dimensioning then follow this to setup your dimensions:

    Dimensions>Properties....in the new screen play with the scale. see attached image
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Maciej
    Joined: Nov 2004
    Posts: 55
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Poland

    Maciej Junior Member

    ThThank you, I very appreciate your help.

    I will export to AutoCad. I made as dxf but there are some options. Which are most proper to save in Autocad?

    Thank you once again.

    Maciej
     
  6. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 148, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    Unless you're using really fancy specialized tools, all the AutoCAD formats work. Default DWG format is what I usually use; DXF is more for compatibility with third-party stuff in the newer autocad versions. Just be sure when exporting from rhino to use splines, not polylines, to get exact curves.
     
  7. CGN
    Joined: Jan 2003
    Posts: 547
    Likes: 9, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 138
    Location: MX

    CGN Senior Member

    Rhino Export

    Hi Maciej,

    If your units are mm, then to export DWG or DXF use the settings as per the attached images, that will create a polyline with a tolerance of 1/2 mm (from the spline in rhino with the polyline created for DWG or DXF).

    Also spline>projected to plane - setting works fine.

    I use the spline option because I get a clean line instead of multiple segments like the polylines, but both ways are functional.
     

    Attached Files:


  8. Maciej
    Joined: Nov 2004
    Posts: 55
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Poland

    Maciej Junior Member

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.