Qualifications for a small craft design business?

Discussion in 'Education' started by sadornati, Dec 24, 2020.

1. sadornati

sadornati Junior Member

I've been researching online and having trouble finding what exactly is required to produce small craft designs, construct, and sell them, and if I have the qualifications to do so.

A little background.. I am early in my career and have a BS in Civil Engineering and MS in Ocean Engineering: Naval Architecture. I should have a PE license in Civil: Construction in a couple weeks (just passed the exam and was approved by the Board). I currently work in the public sector (flood prevention and dredging) and I am thinking of a side pursuit in boat design, given my organization has no issues.

What are the usual legal requirements for designing a boat from scratch, constructing it, and selling? In terms of design stamps, insurances, paperwork, etc.

Thanks very much.

Radenpm9 likes this.
  2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

I will be interested in what other folk have to say on this matter.
    If you have a PE license in Civil Engineering, would this cover you as a professional engineer to work in the field of naval architecture in the USA?

I would guess that the main hurdle would be to obtain appropriate liability insurance?
    Many of the best / most famous small craft designers in the past had little or no qualifications (and certainly not PE status) - yet they were / are brilliant designers.
    But times change.....
    Are you planning on constructing boats yourself, and then selling them as a business?
    I guess you would have to meet the various USCG and ABYC standards for small craft?

hoytedow likes this.
  3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

In the USA having a PE allows you to sign any engineering design. It is in the honor system, where you are not supposed to do work you are not qualified for. However, there is no requirement for designing or building small craft.