PV Cruiser

Discussion in 'Hybrid' started by NWBeerkat, Sep 1, 2010.

1. NWBeerkat

NWBeerkat New Member

I'm a newbie here. I found this website while trying to work out this problem.

I'm considering building a 20-24 foot electric drive boat for cruising at 4 knots with a top speed of at least 10 knots. For stabilities sake it would need a beam of 5 feet or more. I was thinking the general shape of a Cigarette boat with an aluminum hull (may consider fiberglass or kevlar).

If i could cover 80% of the top with photovoltaic panels would it be possible to reach a sustainable input/output? Bear in mind some of the panels would be build into a canopy, so there would be some wind drag. The latitude of Missouri is aproximately 35 degrees and I would only need to reach these limitations in July or August. There would be some night running so navigation light would be needed about 4 hours per day.

With these goals what size battery bank would I need to consider? I might find an opportunity for shore power now and then.

Any thoughts?

2. magwas

magwas Senior Member

beware that I am not qualified to answer this question, so there might be error in the answer.
    First I would do wome approximation on the power generated by the cells.
    According to wikipedia, a 0.01 m2 12% efficiency cell would produce 1.2W in continental US in spring or autumn equinox if aimed directly to sun in a clear day. I would divide it at least with four to account for the surface being horizontal and not entirely clear day.
    I would think a catamaran would be best both in terms of drag and stability.
    A rough cat drawing just for approximations is attached. It have a 29 m2 deck, let's calculate with 20 m2: 1.2/0.01*20/4= 600W

Unfortunately I cannot get freeship to give an estimate of hull resistance at 4 and 10 knots.

Attached Files:

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member