design feedback

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ieagreg1, Oct 8, 2005.

1. ieagreg1

ieagreg1 Junior Member

Hello everyone,
    I was hoping to get feedback on the design of this boat its a 21' barrel stern runabout with a 1920's style bow. It's powered by a 3.0l 135hp I/O it handles well and is quite fast for being underpowered. I designed and built this boat myself it is my first attempt. The one thing I have a problem with is everyone that see's it tells me how great it looks and I'm not sure if theyre just being nice trying not to hurt my feelings. My plans are to possibly build 1 a year as I enjoyed this adventure very much. But dont want to build a dog and end up with a back yard full of these no one wants. Harsh and truthful views are more than welcome.
    Thank you in advance for your opinions

Attached Files:

2. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

Why did you put the sterndrive stiffner plate on the outside of the hull. It really is better looking if mounted on the inside. There you can make it as thick or large as you wish. Other wise, it looks great.

3. ieagreg1

ieagreg1 Junior Member

The sterndrive was an after thought. I was going to use a jet drive but changed mid stream. I wanted to get this in the water before the end of the season and this was the fastest alternative. This winter I'll deside on what to do about the power and the transom.

4. KCook

KCook Senior Member

For big waves I would be concerned about the bow getting buried. Should be fine as is for cutting modest chop.

Does the "barrel back" code really require a circular stern section? I would be tempted to tone that down with slightly flatter sides and top.

Neat theme for a small custom boat though,
    Kelly Cook

5. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member