Newbie on deck.....

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Kiwi_Fella, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Kiwi_Fella

Kiwi_Fella Kiwi

Hi There,

I've been around powerboats and yachts most of my life, and the time has come where i've (cleverly or not) acquired myself a small project hull.

As best i can tell its plywood contrsuction (although looks to have been expoxied inside) and looks to be a Hartley Design (no name plates on it) but has a very nice water form and is a pleasure to ride in. The problem is roughly half of the hull ply is so soft I can stick a screwdriver gently into it and it stays upright......scary.

So i'm after some guidance on the best places to learn on how to replace a few of the stringers and a large portion of the hull ply and then some advice on "to glass or not to glass" and where i can learn this process.

I'm a total newbie at this and am looking to learn. A few of the stringers feel a bit soft so may as well deal with it all while its in the shed.

So pointers to some reading and demo would be much appreciated. The hull cost me all of $400 NZ (i think thats about 65c US in our NZ Peso currency) so if i stuff it up, it'll be a learning exercise.

Much appreciated
    Brian.

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Some pictures or at least technical data would help a lot!

And welcome aboard!

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Well, logging onto the Hartley site will help determine if indeed you have one of their designs. http://hartley-boats.com/index.html

Repairs depend on what, where, how, etc. Generally, you'll have to pull the plywood planking off, repair screw holes, broken frames, rotted cine logs, etc. then hang new planking stock. It's not hard, though there are lots of pit falls and tricks to make your life interesting.

At this point, pictures will be handy and we can likely tell you what Hartley she is and how much pain, I mean work you're in for.

4. Kiwi_Fella

Kiwi_Fella Kiwi

Photos etc from The Newbie