New to Boating World - Need Help With Floor Replacement

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by thenewguy, May 13, 2020.

1. thenewguy

thenewguy Junior Member

Hi Guys,

I'm brand new to boats and just took on a 94 Bayliner Capri. I don't know a whole lot other than what I have been googling and can't seem to find a straight forward answer to my questions. Really hope someone can point me in the right direction..

This boat will be strictly leisure and I won't be using it every weekend either. I don't anticipate the flooring getting too soaked. Boat needs a partial new floor. I will be gutting it and pulling out the carpet this weekend, BUT before I start that I kind of want to get an idea of what I'm doing.
    I figure if I'm going through all this trouble of gutting it I might as well cut out the whole thing (leaving a 2"border around the perimeter) and install new wood.

First question is do I have to use plywood? I read some thread on here about putting down like planks or 1 x 4 or 1 x 6 boards. It made sense to me since the small gaps between board will allow for water to dry out and ventilation etc. I kind of want to give that I try but again i don't know if its a good idea. And do I glass it to the 2" perimeter or leave a gap? paint it after? I have no clue what to do to be honest and I don't know anyone to ask all these questions..

Second, if I get the floor all sorted, what goes on top? I'm big time against carpet cause I feel like that just holds water and smells and its gross. Can I lay vinyl flooring? composite boards?

I'm sure I'll have more questions but thank you to whoever takes the time to help me out here!!

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum TNG.
    Your first task is to determine how much floor you have to take up - you might well find that you do indeed have to take all of it up.