New Project - Analyzing Design Pressures

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by 377 Cat, May 6, 2023.

1. 377 Cat

377 Cat Junior Member

Long time reader, first time poster. I am a hobby builder currently building a 37.5' offshore power catamaran. I have the laminate schedule, core specifications, framing spacing etc from the original designer. I am currently trying to understand more on design pressure and unsupported panel size. I have been playing with vectorlam for some more insight into design pressures for different locations on the hull bottom and tunnel. The beam on the boat is 11.5' and designed heavily loaded displacement is 15600 lbs with a max speed of 55 knots. The boat is anticipated to draft 1'-9". The boat is being built in foam core and epoxy. My focus right now is just confirming that the design pressures I am seeing in vectorlam are close to what I can expect. I want to see what slam pressures on the tunnel are along with the bottom. When I run these numbers in vectorlam I have used DNV-GL and ISO 12215-5 (more applicable to what I am doing).

I am consistently getting design pressures on the bottom running surface around 8 psi and around 9 psi on the front of the tunnel. My question initially do these seem to be in the "ballpark" for a boat of this size and speed?

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.
    A pressure of 8 or 9 psi may be a bit low for the inside bottom-forward part of a 55 knot boat. But nothing can be said without having more information about the boat.
    Working with composite materials, the thickness of the laminate by itself does not say anything conclusive. It is necessary to look for admissible values of the thickness/weight ratio. But, above all, a layer-by-layer analysis must be analyzed to verify that none of them exceeds their design pressure.

3. 377 Cat

377 Cat Junior Member