Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by joe_cope, Jan 19, 2007.

1. joe_cope

joe_cope Junior Member

Hello,

My name is Joe.

I'm an American English teacher in Shanghai, China (PRC).

I'm probably the least knowlageable member on this form, so I'll probably need the most patience.
    I'll try not too ask questions that are too stupid though. ;)

Although I know almost nothing about boats I've always been interested in them and I love going out on them. I am particularly interested in trimarans, specifically the Walker Wingsail. I'd like to try building one someday.

[​IMG]
    Walker Wingsale in the Bahamas

Like I said, I don't know much about boats and, if I build one, it won't be for a while. right now I'm interested in wingsails (I'm a pilot, so they seem to "fit"), and I've just read an interesting book on "stitch & glue", so I'd like to know more about that too.

See you all inside,

Joe

2. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

3. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

If you google 'walker wingsails' you wil find extensive coverage of their entire history. But as you read all this stuff you should be aware that no report or view about this particular technology is entirely 'objective'. From the word 'go', Walker split the boating world so therefore most of what has been written is either from people who were 'for him' or against. At best, you could say that it was an underdeveloped and immature technology that never delivered the performance claimed. The development of rigid wings have continued and there are several projects using them for high speed craft, but as yet, they too are a long way from delivering the 'arm chair, simple, controllable sailing' promised by Walker.