My vision, please help!

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Workinforwood, Aug 7, 2007.

1. Workinforwood

Workinforwood Junior Member

I had a vision of what my next project needs to be. I am a hobbyist woodworker and intarsia/carver. I know nothing about boats at all, but I need to build a bow that can hang on the wall. I want to simulate something more like a tall ship sort of bow, planks (not plywood), with the mast jutting out the front, if you call that a mast? I'm thinking about 4' tall and sticking out from the wall about 12" perhaps? I want a globe like glass window on each side that can open up with a shelf inside. I want to carve a huge beautiful mermaid and mount it to the front of the bow which will open up like a door to reveal a tall skinny shelf hiding behind it inside the bow(maybe like a wine storage area. I need to carve some breaking waves below as well. I would like to have a few ropes incorporated, perhaps hanging off the mast thingy back to the top front of the ship. I want the ship to look like she's coming right through the wall, the mermaids arms out-stretched like she is making the ship fly!

Sounds like I"m insane perhaps...but nonetheless where should I start?

I am not rich, I'm a trucker. I can hold my own with your above average carving crowd. I have all the basic woodworking tools and then some. I can't bend wood. I am great with a pencil, so drawing out my mermaid, waves, any other details like maybe some barnicles is no problem. Thanks to anyone who takes the time to read this, along with trying to envision what I'm after and then pointing me to some idea's where to begin!

2. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

If you search "Google Images" for "wooden ships" or "pirate ships" you get plenty of pictures of old wooden ships. Searching "Images" for "mermaids" is also interesting.
    Searching "Images" with "ship parts" gave me this site...(and a bunch of others)....

http://all-kids.us/ships-page.html