Moth plans

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Panos_na, Dec 8, 2005.

1. Panos_na

Panos_na Junior Member

I am a Student of Naval Architecture and I am doing a last year project for my University.

The subject is about the design of a hydrofoil sailboat.
    I deciced to design a Moth boat.

Because my project will be focused mostly in the hydrofoil design and appplication and not in the hull design, I need some plans of a Moth boat.

Can anyone help me?

I need the lines plans, body plan, etc, plus the exact Center of gravity of the hull.

Please if anyone can help me, let me know.

Thank you!:)

2. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

Go to www.foils.org
    The last item under "site map" is a paper by Ian Ward. That's your starting point.

The Italian Moth Class page is
    www.moth.it
    They have an article on the subject posted at
    www.moth.it/Magazine_dinghy.htm

The pioneering designer and most successful builder of hydrofoil Moths is John Ilett at
    www.fastacraft.com
    I don't know if he sells plans (or would provide you with them free if you were to offer to do research for him and sign a nondisclosure).

A thread in this forum with many participants who might be able to help you is
    www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2447

I've started what I hope will be a related thread at
    www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?t=9695

3. casavecchia

casavecchia Senior Member

4. thesom

thesom Junior Member

sti zitiania gia sxedia vgikame????:) :) :)

zita apo to mavraki

5. Panos_na

Panos_na Junior Member

This is a moth boat that I designed myself.

What do you think?:)

Attached Files:

6. zerogara

zerogara build it and sail it

Moth foils

I would suspect that you will find some plans for a Moth on the net and most specifications. I would also speculate that the design itself is not of outmost importance but the specification of weight/drag at various stages.