Modeling boats in Freeship-The techniques of Using the sofware

Discussion in 'Software' started by lewisboats, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. mick_allen
    Joined: Dec 2005
    Posts: 40
    Likes: 5, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: vancouver, b.c.

    mick_allen -

    To try and clearly show the intention. The issue is that change has an effect.

    The statement to be made again is that the same effect happens whether by connection (method shown), by extrusion, or by placing the 2 points on the ridgeline and making the cabin surface between.

    As well, so called 'soft points' don't exist. They all (even 'locked points') have an effect like a magnet upon the surface or surface edge. But unlike a magnet, they have greater and greater effects the farther they are from the surface or surface edge.

    Just to be clear to Frank and others:
    Most of what I have written is NOT a criticism of the program. One has to recognize that a 'corner' is a singularity, but the program behaves essentially as one would hope: but you just have to record where you were, add a few more points and connections and massage the model back to whatever tolerance works for you.

    The utility of joined faces outweighs separation by far. It just takes some adjustment.
     
  2. frank smith
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 980
    Likes: 14, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 185
    Location: usa

    frank smith Senior Member

    Cool , I'll work with that a bit
     
  3. lewisboats
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 2,329
    Likes: 126, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1603
    Location: Iowa

    lewisboats Obsessed Member

    by soft points I meant points that aren't cornered. I'll have to play with it a bit more...maybe I'm missing something.
     
  4. mick_allen
    Joined: Dec 2005
    Posts: 40
    Likes: 5, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: vancouver, b.c.

    mick_allen -

    Here’s another look at the same example:

    This is the situation that is wished to be retained. Simple hull, lots of curvature, few points. No hull change is desired.
    Fig 201
    [​IMG]

    The display only will now be changed to isolate the steps about to happen. The gunwale and chine only have been exported and reimported as ‘markers’ for reference. Stations on the isolated panel are shown so that surface changes may be seen. But nothing in the model has been changed:
    Fig 202
    [​IMG]
    Say for some reason, I place a control point in the chine curve by using ‘create new control points by splitting a control curve in two’, one would not expect much change as the arrow points to where the point will be placed and this point is really quite close to the chine curve. (no movement will be given to the point, the program will just be asked to place it between the two points c1 and c2)


    But this is what really happens:
    Fig 203
    [​IMG]
    The chine curve has been displaced over a huge portion of the whole curve with the deviation being some inches away from its original position and the maximum deviation is not even where the new point is added! As well, from the station lines, one can see that the panel is dished somewhat towards the middle. One simple, seemingly inconsequential point has consequences.

    ***
    So let’s step back to figure 202 again and instead of placing a new point the chine curve, place it into the existing control edge between point 2 on the gunwale and point c2 on the chine:
    Fig 204
    [​IMG]
    This placement (no movement has been done) does not affect the chine or gunwale curves (edges) but does bulge out the middle of the panel.

    ***

    So then let’s go back the original position in fig 2 and add a gunwale point:
    Fig205

    [​IMG]
    This simple addition has caused the same sort of situation as that of the chine point addition: The gunwale curve has been significantly altered over more than half its length, the major alteration is away from the point addition and nearer the region of high curvature, and the panel has been dished.

    The above has just been with normal 'uncornered' control points.

    ***

    If you add points of any kind near areas of high curvature there will be significant effects. If the original shape is important, take steps to prerecord it so that the base position is not lost.
     
  5. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    While trying to understand this phenomenon one has to be aware of the following:

    • Points on the interior of the surface behave differently than points
      on the boundary or on crease edges. The crease or boundary edges
      will be closer to the controlpoints than interior surface points. Or To
      use your terms: The magnets of crease points are stronger than interior points.

    • Further more, the algorithms for the subdivision surface adopted
      by the program are optimized for triangular and quadrilateral faces.
      By adding a 5th point on your quadrilateral face twist is introduced in
      the surface patch. This is clearly visible in the surface of your side panel.
      To avoid this you should also insert points on the chine and contour
      line, and connect these new points with edges all the way to the
      center line
     
  6. mick_allen
    Joined: Dec 2005
    Posts: 40
    Likes: 5, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 59
    Location: vancouver, b.c.

    mick_allen -

    I regret using the term magnets: I think a better allusion is that of rubber bands from the control point to the surface or edge - the farther away, the more effect and vice versa. The demonstration is to show that even single point additions do influence surface/edge behaviours.

    Note that I have not shown solutions but just demonstrated the initial issue with a corner, or on a crease edge, or on a boundary edge, or on an interior edge.

    Solutions involve adding more points in the manner you state, and then adjusting every one of them in order to approximate the previous location of the surface and of its edges.
     
  7. gonzo
    Joined: Aug 2002
    Posts: 13,433
    Likes: 333, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 2031
    Location: Milwaukee, WI

    gonzo Senior Member

    Does this program accept a table of offsets?
     
  8. yipster
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 3,486
    Likes: 94, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 1148
    Location: netherlands

    yipster designer

  9. frank smith
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 980
    Likes: 14, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 185
    Location: usa

    frank smith Senior Member

    I have been adding some bulk heads to a design , and now my nicely fared hull
    is all kinked up. I know that makers can be imported , but how do I set markers to a new hull design to keep tract of where I have been .

    Frank
     
  10. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    There should be a menu option in the intersection window that will convert any available stations, waterlines or buttocks to markers.

    That way you can visualize the difference between any modifications you made to your hull
     
  11. frank smith
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 980
    Likes: 14, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 185
    Location: usa

    frank smith Senior Member

    I see that freeships can produce dimensioned bulk heads as well as
    interior furniture . Dose any one have any experience with the accuracy of
    the expanded panels? Could I design an egg crate like structure for a multi chine ply boat an have it work?

    And is there an easy way to reduce the bulk head by the hull thickness?
     
  12. Guest625101138

    Guest625101138 Previous Member

    The accuracy of developed panels is limited by the accuracy of marking and cutting them. Although panel thickness has to be catered for separately if you are using thick panels.

    If you have thin panels that are machine cut they will fit together neatly.

    Rick W
     
  13. tijuaug
    Joined: Nov 2009
    Posts: 1
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: aUSTRALIA

    tijuaug New Member

    Free!Ship export to PDStrip

    Dear Martijn,
    This is not really related to the titile of this thread but I thought that it would be appropriate because this is related to Free!Ship. My query is related to one of your message a fair while ago. Please see quoted below.

    Do you have a version of Free!Ship which can export the hull in this format suitable for PD Strip??

    Thanks in advance

    Tiju

     
  14. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    Tiju,

    I've worked on that for a while, and although the export from FREE!ship to PDStrip was pretty much completed
    I couldn't find the support that I needed to complete it. If I remember correctly there were also some issues
    parsing the output file of PDStrip. So unfortunately I was forced to abort the development.
     

  15. Chuck Losness
    Joined: Apr 2008
    Posts: 310
    Likes: 37, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 135
    Location: Central CA

    Chuck Losness Senior Member

    I have been playing around with freeship plus and have two questions currently.
    First, after zooming in on a view, how do you move the drawing so you can see the edges?
    Second, is there a way to radius a chine to a given radius?
    Thanks for your help.
    Chuck
    SV Hale Moana
    Living the good life cruising in Mexico
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.