Materials advice, yes i am a newbie

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mberry, Jun 11, 2017.

1. mberry

mberry Junior Member

Hi,

Ive got a 8.1m cat, built here in Australia. (Markham Dominator)

As it doesnt look like it will sell im going to punch a bit more money into it and change the few bit about it to make it my perfect boat.

It currently has a pair of df150s on it which do the job but a bit slow for liking so im going to upgrade with a pair of 225s and extend the transom by another meter to give it more buoyancy in stern to counter the added weight.

While im at it the deck will get ripped up (theres a few soft spots starting to show) so i will replace that maybe change the fuel tank position and probably replace the stringers too avoid any future problems.

The cat is a foam sandwich construction, at least the hull is, i am yet to pull it apart and see how much wood is in it. theyve gone out of business so i cant ring them to find out how they were made exactly.

Anyway my question was relating to the best materials for the job, i dont want to use any wood and like the idea of saving weight using composites but the more i read the more confused to which one is best. one company i have spoken with recommended duflex for the lot including transom, i dont like the idea of a foam sandwiched transom. I was thinking Coosa board.

should i use coosa board for the transom and use foam sandwich for the deck and stringer?

Also regards to the extension what layup would you recommend? i know they say its best to match the manufacturer but i havent started the rebuild yet so not sure of their technique.

I will leave the questions there and look forward to hearing from you, no doubt to be replied with more questions from me. this is a daunting task to take on hence why i am here, i tend to over do things so i would rather be over doing them in the right way.

thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

• boat.JPG
      boat.JPG