Mast vs boat length

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by SeaMaster, May 11, 2022.

Tags:
  1. SeaMaster

SeaMaster Junior Member

Hello everyone, I'm humbled to have found such a great forum with so many knowledgeable sailors.
    I'm relatively new to sailboat design and standard but I could not resist to buy what I hope is a great opportunity to own a cruiser and possibly live in it for a long time.

The brand is SeaMaster, it was out of Ft. Lauderdale and so far I have not found anybody that has ever heard of it. Anyways, the company closed down in 2005 and the had a few sailboat left unfinished. I'm pretty handy so I jumped on it and got a 54ft for $20k total.
    The boat comes with almost everything, she floats, engine runs good, has 2 AC units 2 heads, all plumbing are done, all she needs is interior work like cabinets, beds and seating.

The boat came with a mast (laying down on deck) that is supposed to be deck stepped and is 53ft high. I read some other threads regarding opinions on the high of the mast and what I found in general is that the mast should be about 1.2 or 1.3 the length of the boat. So I'm not even at 1.0 with this mast. I understand that the taller the mast, the more sail area you get and all is better sailing, but to my purpose and general understanding, how much worst would it be to have a rigging like mine? is it really going to be that bad of a difference for let's say 0.3 less than the suggested average length?

Also I found some insane calculations for the Sail Area / Displacement Ratio (SA/D) that is based more on the named coefficient rather than just the mast size.

To make it short should I start looking for a used taller mast? Keep in mind I wont race with this, just cruising.

Sail away
    Danny

2. AlanX

AlanX Senior Member

Although mast lengths average 1.3xLOA, the sail area and configuration (type and aspect ratio) determine the mast and rigging specification.