17ft custom aluminum jet sled plans. Better built than bought.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by TwinSled, Sep 10, 2018.

1. TwinSled

TwinSled Junior Member

Hello all! I am new to the forum, but in the last year have become obsessed with welded aluminum river boats. I recently moved to eastern Montana, amd reside not 400 yards from the Yellowstone river.
    I have been scouring the web for an aluminum jet boat for the last 6 months, but have found that either a used boat costs too much, and doesn't fit my needs, or a custom ordered jet boat would basically cost my soul.

I have come to the conclusion that I am going to custom fabricate my "perfect" hull, and outfit it with twin jet outboards. (Just because I can.)

I have become very partial to the design of the Wooldridge Alaskan, and plan to build a hull with a 2 piece windshield very similar to that. This boat will primarily be used on the Yellowstone river, but will also see the waters of Fort Peck reservoir every so often.

So in order to have a tailored hull, I need the side panels (or gunnels) to be 3 to 4 inches taller than the ones of a wooldridge, and also need to have the windshield and dash moved forward almost a foot from the wooldridge to increase sight while running the river in low light conditions.

This boat will need to be equipped with a large livewell/baitwell, and have storage compartments along with port or starboard rod lockers.

When it comes to propulsion, I have always dreamed of having a twin outboard setup. To me, nothing looks sharper than two outboards hanging off a transom.
    In order to have an appropriate amount of horsepower, I planned on running either 50hp Tohatsu's, or 40hp yamaha's or Mercs. I thought Tohatsu may be the best dollar value.