Looking for an education

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jdray, Jun 17, 2005.

1. jdray

jdray Paddle Guy

Hi, all. Newbie here.

I've just embarked on a journey to learn about motor cruisers. For about a year now, I've had the (crazy?) idea that I wanted one and, since the idea hasn't gone away, I'm starting to get serious about learning what I can. It will be years before I buy one, but that's fine. By the time I do, I should know enough to keep myself out of too much trouble.

This whole thing started when my wife and I, who are avid novice kayakers (flatwater, with plans to move into the surf zone soon), read a magazine article on "kayak mothershipping." As you may know, the concept is to have a support boat to live aboard while doing day trips with a kayak (or two). When we were younger, the idea of pitching a tent on a rocky shore and camping with whatever gear we could stow in the holds of a kayak would have appealed to us. The idea sounds romantic now, but we know ourselves well enough to know how miserable we'd actually be.

There are several "floating B&Bs" in nearby British Columbia; former fishing trawlers and whatnot that have been made into "sleeps-10 with a dining room and library" sort of micro cruise ships at one end of the spectrum. What we're interested in is more like what's in the cover photo seen here; something small, with the right kind of design to carry a couple of kayaks on the roof, but big enough to sleep four and have a small galley and head.