location of prop on Inboard

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by k2panman, Feb 12, 2005.

1. k2panman

k2panman Junior Member

Does anyone know about or where to find info on location of a propeller on an inboard boat? I have a 34' silverton converting to twin diesels. The prop shafts and struts are bad and need to be chaged, the rudders are broken also. The boat was originally designed with gas engines and 18 x 18" props I believe. My questions are: what distance should the props be from the bottom of the boat? What distance from the rudders?

2. woodboat

woodboat Senior Member

I am not a boat designer. With that said every inboard I have every owned you can get the prop off with the rudder on but just barely. It takes some effort and spinning moves :) Also my rudder is slightly offset to facilitate this. The props need at least 1" clearance from the bottom 2" is better. Since it had inboards why not put the parts back in the same location?

3. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

K2,

You first have to determine what the new propeller diameter will be. With the change to diesels, the power and drive line might be different. You should also determine the size of the new rudders. Once you know the prop diameter and the rudder size, the top of the prop should be at least 15% to 20% of the prop diameter below the hull. The leading edge of the rudder at the top forward corner should be at least 20% of the prop diameter behind the top of the prop. The back edge of the rudder should be at least 10% of the prop diameter forward of the bottom corner of the transom. Also, it is preferred that the propellers are opposite turning, when viewed from astern looking forward, with the starboard propeller turning clockwise, and the port propeller turning counter-clockwise. Finally, the rudders should not be in the same line as the prop shaft centerline. The rudders should be placed outboard of their respective propeller shaft centerlines by 10% of the propeller diameter.