outboard engine's propeller

Discussion in 'Props' started by kmwoo, Sep 16, 2009.

1. kmwoo

kmwoo New Member

I’m an engineering student and i have a question can anyone help me please....:confused: :confused: :confused:
    i want to know about type of outboard engine's propeller . if i use Wageningen B-series propellers to predict about outboard engine's propeller it right or wrong ??? and could u tell me the series of propeller can use with outboard engine's propeller

2. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

If we are talking "standard" outboards, they are mostly operating in a high-speed, low-load condition and with an imminent risk for cavitation or ventilation.

For this purpose, the Newton-Rader series would be a better fit; the Gawn-Burrill probably coming next. There is some data on W-B with a cup as well, that may be relevant to you. I'll see if I can produce some references for you later. As you have noted, most propeller matching (not design....) programs have algorithms, based on the W-B series. Due to the cambered blade sections of the N-R, there will be a shift in optimum advance ratio for each pitch ratio when you compare the two.

3. kmwoo

kmwoo New Member

thanks. baeckmo

could u have Gawn-Burrill curve or Newton-Rader series curve and conference or reference data sheet. i will use it to validate with my thesis.

4. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

Sorry to keep you waiting; got to do some job for those paying my bills now and then...

Here a few references that may get you on track:

"Performance Data of Propellers for High Speed Craft" by RN Newton and HP Rader; The Royal Inst of Naval Architects, Quarterly Transactions, April 1961, Vol 103 No 2.

"A New Usable Propeller Series" by Denny, Puckette, Hubble, Smith and Najarian; Marine Technology Vol 26, No 3, July 1969, pp 173-191.

"Design Considerations for Propellers in a Cavitating Environment" by DL Blount and DL Fox; Marine Technology Vol 15, No 2, April 1978, pp 144-178.