JoeBoat Alana

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by sharpii2, Nov 1, 2020.

1. sharpii2

sharpii2 Senior Member

After many years of playing with boat design, I have decided to finally take the plunge into the designer/builder realm.

I have decided to build a boat of my own design.

If this boat proves itself, I'm seriously considering creating a class based on its design.

The design is what I call a "JoeBoat" (named after my long deceased brother). It is a concept I have long ago wanted to try. It is a straight-sided scow with a 3.0 ft Beam and a deep-rocker bottom.

I have drawn four versions of this concept, complete with full parts drawings.

It started out as a 2.5 ft x 10 ft boat, then morphed to two 3.0 ft x 12 ft versions, then finally became a 3.0 ft x 10 ft boat, the one I decided to build.

Not content to build just a hull and put a conventional rig on it, I decided to also try a sail concept I have been kicking around for many years, too.

I have been wanting to try a split-lug for as long as I can remember.

A split-lug is a lug sail that is split into two smaller sails which share a boom and a yard. The aft portion is laced to the mast. The forward portion is free standing in that it only attaches to the boom and the yard.

There are two supposed advantages to this arrangement:

1.) there is no chafing against the mast on the "bad tack", as there is far less of one. The boom and the yard are still on one side of the mast, so there is a difference in tacks, but the sail cloth does not have to bend around the mast.

2.) A larger portion of the sail area can be in front of the mast. This will be useful for better down wind manners and less violent jibes. It also will allow the mast to be stepped further aft, which will be quite useful on a tiny boat.

A big disadvantage, however, is reefing.