IMS

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by ErikG, May 21, 2004.

1. ErikG

ErikG Senior Member

< Admin Note: Thread split from Yacht performance comparison >

Personally I doubt that you get any good info from current IMS boats sins these are pure rule boats and not really concerned with true speed a such.
    Internal lead ballast and wooden keels says it all, don't you think?

2. Jeff H

Jeff H Junior Member

Where have you seen an IMS boat with a wooden keel and internal lead ballast? While you do see IMS boats with composite foils and all of their ballast in a bulb, I have not seen internal ballast (or wood keels) since the IOR rule.

Jeff

3. ErikG

ErikG Senior Member

->Jeff

Jeff, I see that you haven't looked at the European IMS fleet lately have you?
    I'm by no means an expert but I know a little.
    IMS punishes modern good keels with a low CG soo badly, so that building a boat with all ballast internally an as little weight in the fin as possible seems to be a good idea for wuite a lot of designers.
    Internal ballast, no bulb, composite keels (perhaps wood is toooo heavy to use).
    It all makes for tippy, unstable, slow and heavy boats. Sure you can design a fast and goodlooking boat under IMS, but the rating rule will kill you and you'll never win!

Even the designers themselves does not think that the new breed of IMS boats as the IMS 600 are good offshoreboats, guess why... They typically max out at around twelwe knots! Beam reach, downwind whatever they don't go any faster...

An excerpt from Sailingworld:
    Sailingworld

This does not look like good design to me!

And besides in th US, I believe only two or three IMS boats have been built since 1999 (or so I'm told). Sounds like a good thing?

And the certificates are expensive prohibiting most "normal" boatowners competing in the class.