I want to pick your brains :D

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by student.matt, Jul 12, 2006.

1. student.matt

student.matt New Member

Ok i am a total novice and in my free time i want to build me something like a bassboat but on a smaller scale can seat 1-2 people would have a place to stand up front( or the hole thing would maybe be a standing platform ) with like a trolling motor on the back maybe. but i really dont know much about about building and alot of sites i look at couse confusion, i am more interested in composite boats becouse it seems most bassboats are made out of composite materials also it seems more cost effective, and how would i stabalize a boat in the water so i could be stood on and walked around on without swaying massivly like most alluminum boats ive been fishing in... also once i build a boat do these things need titles.. how would i get one?

also are composite boats made out of only composite materials or is there a wooden frame under it like i see on some sites.... are they filled with some kind of meterial so there is no hallow spots.... ?????

ok for now i am done picking your brains hopfully i didnt pick them all away :D

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Well, this is what we're here for :)
    Advice 1: Full sentences and punctuation will make your posts a lot easier to read.
    Advice 2: Don't try to design a hull yourself; rather, find plans you like and build from them. There are a LOT of plans available for small boats if you look around.
    Advice 3: Try the "Search" button on this forum. There's a lot of other people trying their first boat projects too!
    Advice 4: As for legal stuff, pick up a copy of the small vessel construction standards (your local coast guard office will help you find what applies to you) and make sure you follow their guidelines. Registration of a homebuilt boat is pretty easy, but you need to build to the appropriate standards if you want insurance.