Hydrofoil powerboat history

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by tburd, Sep 16, 2015.

1. tburd

tburd New Member

Hi, hoping to get some help and learn more about the history of hydrofoil powerboats. My background is mostly in sailing, where foils are becoming more popular across a range of racing and recreational boats. I'm curious as to why there hasn't been the same level of adoption in the powerboat community. The benefits of reduced drag and improved seakeeping should be equally appreciated.

I'm aware of the past commercial ferry projects as well as a few custom builds. The most recent good example being the Hydros team:
    #3 HY-X

Why isn't a ~30' foiling center console a thing?

2. NavalSArtichoke

NavalSArtichoke Senior Member

Hydrofoils have been around more than 100 years, starting with experimental craft built by Thornycroft. Alexander Graham Bell also experimented with an early hydrofoil boat just before and after WWI.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrofoil

I think the reason hydrofoils aren't more common is in order to work, you must be at speed all the time, and there are times when powerboats are obliged to throttle back for safety.

Hydrofoils are expensive to build and operate, and if you damage the foils, all the supposed advantages disappear. The Wiki article discusses other reasons why foils have declined in popularity.

3. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

4. Ike

Ike Senior Member

Like any particular type of boat, hydrofoils have their place. They are not a one size fits all solution. Back in the 70's the US Coast Guard borrowed a couple of hydrofoils from the Navy. They were great for pouncing on smugglers. But they were very expensive to run and maintain. They eat fuel like there is no limit to the oil on earth. So they gave them back to Navy with a Thanks, but no thanks.