apprenticeship offered on 48ft custom catamaran build in Florida

Discussion in 'Services & Employment' started by tevake118, Aug 31, 2020.

1. tevake118

tevake118 Junior Member

I have been a multihull builder since 1976 . I want to transfer my skill set concerning construction and restoration of composite multihulls in my boatyard/shop to someone who can afford to stay dedicated acquiring these skills for a period of one year. The work will include, all of the following, while continuing the build of my 48 ft custom catamaran:
    1) designing a live-aboard catamaran for very little money, and around 6k hrs of sweat equity;
    2)fiberglassing, epoxy ($300/10 gal), polyurethane adhesives/caulk/foam -both expanding & sheet;
    3)marine woodworking and fastening techniques (how to avoid expensive marine plywood);
    4)sanding, grinding, drilling composites, wood, metal, by hand and machine;
    5) diesel and o/b propulsion for catamaran bridgedeck location;
    6)mast and sail acquisition, incl. standing/ running rigging, incl electrical winches, for ca. $3k total;
    7)5 anchor types/ windlasses/ chain rodes design/ acquisition, and install for ca. & $2-3k;
    8) electrical systems and 12 v wiring for this catamaran, and much more.
    You should be willing to learn to use the relevant tools, live aboard and take a berth, work 40 hrs/wk, and be comfortable with a stipend of $200 per week. Send applications to: tevake118@gmail.com

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Is your apprentice suppose to buy all those materials for the posted price?

3. tevake118

tevake118 Junior Member

Hi Gonzo; I have been reading your posts for years - you are someone I respect!
    No, those prices are what I have been able to pay for the stated items for my project build during the last 3 yrs; my point is that I want to teach someone what is possible outside of the regular market. I am honest to a fault and a man of my word.