Help Needed: Calculating Canoe Resistance for Mechanical Engineering Project

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by Ousmane, Oct 31, 2023.

1. Ousmane

Ousmane Junior Member

Hello everyone,

As a mechanical engineering student, I am in search of an appropriate method to calculate the resistance to forward motion of a canoe, similar to the one depicted in thes pictures I will attach. I would greatly appreciate any guidance, advice, or methods that you could share to assist me in tackling this challenge.

I plan to measure the dimensions of the canoe and assess the wetted surface area. For analysis, I've heard of the waterlines method, but I am open to other suggestions. Your expertise would be invaluable.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Attached Files:

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Calculating that resistance is fraught with a bunch of variables. You can calculate the wetted surface drag with a limited degree of confidence. The surface itself causes some differences. A perfectly smooth surface and one that is less smooth. Your textbooks may lay down some numers that you could use for that part of the calculation.

Dynamic drag is a whole other deal. That depends on the configuration of the displaced area and more influentially on the velocity of the boat through the water. Reynolds numbers, Froude numbers and other combinations of variables make the sum of the drag somewhat difficult to predict. Sea state also plays into the puzzle.

bajansailor likes this.
  3. Ousmane

Ousmane Junior Member

Thank you, sir, for your response. Actually, I didn't specifically study naval construction in school, but I stumbled upon this project by chance, so I need to learn everything from scratch.
    I tried using the MaxSurf software, and the result I obtained was not convincing because, for different calculation methods within the software, it provided very different values.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member