Free!Ship Design Help 5.5 Planning Hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by RoBoT6779, Jul 21, 2013.

1. RoBoT6779

RoBoT6779 Junior Member

Hello fellow boat enthusiasts,

My first post so apologies in advance if i've missed the right protocol for this site. (let me know, and i'll do my best).
    I'm an aluminium boat builder by trade and have built boats from 4.5m up to 36m commercial catamarans.

I have built a few boats for myself and family members over the years (trailerable fishing boats 5 to 7.5 m) and designed them myself by 'eye'. By eye I mean, marking out the plate with battens using my educated guess, (pullup method bottom plates first) and bit of trial and error. They have all been successful, but a little time consuming.

I have always wanted to design similar boats using 3D software, but the ducks have just never fallen in place to get the knowledge. I have 2D AutoCAD experience having drawn up construction plans for 24m catamarans (from lines plans).

My goal is to CNC cut a Kit. So that construction time is cut down. (I have a young son and he is time hungry!!! but I want to take him fishing).

I have discovered FREE!SHIP and what a beauty that little program is. I've got my design and I can develop the plates, export a lines plan, I've even printed out and made a scale model 3:1.

Now here is my problem.
    My frames are all straight!!! So I'm only talking about the bottom developed plates here (but the sides are the same).
    Now as a planning hull, I expect the last third (transom end) to have flat frames (by flat, I mean a straight line from Keel to Chine, the boat has about 17 degrees deadrise at the transom). But I want the design to be somewhat of a conical development (so I can still use a pull up method of build). Frames from midships FRD should have a small amount of curve in them (as does my model when I pull up the shape) and the very frd frames may end up fairly straight over a short distance.