formula for finding waterline?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Baldur, Jun 17, 2005.

1. Baldur

Baldur Junior Member

I have traditionally built from other peoples' plans and would like to give a try at building my own design without spending years in marine school. I understand some of the formulas for determining hull speed, but how do I find the waterline?
    I am a CAD designer and use Solidworks and/or Unigraphics in the aerospace industry, so I am familure with finding center of gravity (CG), balance, mass properties, ect. My question is how can I determine the hull displacement and waterline from a CAD model?
    I have drawn up some great hull designs, but I would like to know if they are practical or even realistic. :confused:

2. JonathanCole

JonathanCole imagineer

Fresh water weighs 62.4 pounds per cubic foot.
    Salt water weighs 64 pounds per cubic foot.

So each cubic foot displaced can support those weights, in those water conditions.

If you know the total weight of the boat and its contents you can then determine how many cubic feet will be submerged. Since the shape of the boat's volume from the waterline down is a complex shape, you would have to have a way of calculating where the line would be to fit the given required submerged volume. It should be an easy job for a computer!

3. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

I am glad I use SI :)
    One cubic meter of water is (praktically) 1000kg or a ton.
    One cubic decimeter (or one litre) is one kg.
    In SolidWorks or other standard cad programs you have to guess I think, try with the waterline you think look right, slice the model and compute the volume and lcb of the underwater body, compare that with your (estimated) total weight and cg.

4. Tactic

Tactic Junior Member

Start by computing main section area,multiply by waterline length and then by desired or estimated prismatic coefficent. This will give rough displacment of your hull in that trim.