first time boat builder. considering houseboat

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by coricivic, Mar 31, 2011.

1. coricivic

coricivic New Member

so i'm 24 and in a wheelchair. recently i had some things in my life that made me want to pursue a more free form of life. that came to me in the form of wanting to try the houseboat life.

with needing to keep atleast a 30" gap for my wheelchair here's my layout with the front to the left of the pictures. i just based it on a 20' by 8.5' pontoon platform. drawn to scale in autocad. 4' deck, 14 foot quarters, 2' rear deck for generator/propane etc.

oh, and i kept the highest counter at 36". not only because i'm in a wheelchair, but because i think being able to see out every corner from everywhere makes it more open.

sorry for total noob status
    so starting from scratch i know i need to figure out all of these things:

temp-insulation/windows
    engine

i know nothing about any of this. well, starting to learn. the one thing i'm most wondering about is the price range i'm looking at.

power:
    for the kitchen, i just need to figure out power consumption for fridge, microwave. + any lighing on boat and entertainment consumption. wiring for 12/110

structure:
    what materials are best for construction of walls, roof, insulation, etc w/ weight & cost in mind. never done anything w/ boats before but did my share of home upgrades and working on cars. my question is this. knowing i have to keep it as light as possible what would be the best material for floor, walls, roof, and joists?

[​IMG]

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

The first thing you need to do is establish a SOR, then preform a rough weights estimate so you know how much hull(s) you need to hold all this up. Of course, this assumes you have enough engineering and hydrodynamics ability to process the information and apply it as best as you can to you SOR.