Ergonomics - Stairs on Boats

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kach22i, Mar 29, 2006.

1. kach22i

kach22i Architect

Where can I get “FREE” drawings and information on boat ergonomics?

I’m trying to draw something up for the fun of it. One of the issues is going down into the control cabin, which is a half level below the deck. That's right, the cockpit floor is below the deck. It is 3-feet (1-Meter) below to be exact. I know most control cabin’s are above not below deck level, I’m thinking this could turn out to be important later on.

The ergonomics of small boats and yachts is a challenging and curious thing for me. My background is that I'm an architect, a land lover who must often deal with barrier free and the ADA (American Disabilities Act).

Throwing that all out for a moment, no code just what works, I find boat stairs, doors, galleys and toilet facilities to be awkward, kids tree house like.

Add to the steepness, the narrowness, lack of headroom and the fact that it's all heaving and moving about on the water and I'm just astonished any of it functions without a mutiny happening. I guess it beats trying to put your bodily fluids into a coffee can while people wait for you to do your business, right?

Where can I get “FREE” drawings and information on boat ergonomics? I have AutoCad LT 2002 (not 3D), so I might be limited to the simple stuff to start off.

1 person likes this.
  2. buckknekkid

buckknekkid Senior Member

its been done

let me find the dxf file. 46 foot cougar military. And then theres the Carver Santego series, Searay had a 44 with a minor variation of the theme also

3. kach22i

kach22i Architect