My Project

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by DavidT03, May 8, 2011.

1. DavidT03

DavidT03 Junior Member

Hello all

My name is David and im currently studying at the Glasgow Nautical College (Now known as The City of Glasgow College)

Im currently studying to be Marine Engineer and i have been given the task of redesigning my previous ships HFO tanks so that they adhere to MARPOL regulation 12A.

Regulation 12A which has been in place since the 1st of August 2010, requires all ships with an aggregate fuel oil capacity of 600m³ or greater to adhere to guidelines which stipulate where fuel tanks can be on board a ship, the minimum distances tanks must be from the outer shells and also states that a maximum fuel capacity per tank to be 2500m³

[​IMG]

This image shows the two wing tanks, HFOW2P and HFOW2S that are no complient as they are not fully double skinned. The void spaces indicated on either side show that the tanks are partially double skinned untill a point and the parts of the tank that are not double skinned must be modified by adding steel plates to the inside of these tanks.

This image linked here due to its large size http://i56.tinypic.com/2h32yxg.png is the plan view of the ship showing the tanks HFOW1P, HFOW1S, HFOW2P and HFOW2S. These are the 4 tanks that must be modified.

Im very unexperienced at naval architecture and im struggling to get to grips with this project, so im basically asking if anyone would be able to help me with at all.

I know this is my first post and im new to this forum, so if im doing something wrong or posting in the wrong place i appologize.

Im really stressed out about this so all help is very welcome.

Thanks,

David.

Edit: Here is the fuel tank spec's

[​IMG]

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member