Do product designers exist in the yachting industry??

Discussion in 'Education' started by JIMMY11, Apr 14, 2004.

1. JIMMY11

JIMMY11 New Member

Any advice???

I'm currently studying Product design a Leicester university purley because my options in design would be left open (Better job prospects i thought) rather than studying a yacht design course. However designing kettles, toasters and mobiles, is starting to get a little tedius, and i have always wanted to design and build yachts or parts of.

I am a total yacht design virgin, with a degree (almost) in BA Product/ furniture Design. Maths is not a strong point so hull design is out the window. i am more interested is designing layouts or clever beds that dissapear.

could anyone tell me if a product/furniture designer has a place in the yachting industry, and if so what would be the best way to get cracking.

As a current student cash is in the serious '-' Zone, however we do get very long hols, one idea i had would be to catch a ride on one of the countless yachting trips, paying for the trip by working as a deckhand and hopefully learning more about yachts. With anylook beer would be a long way away and so spent cash would be kept to a minimum.

i would really appriciate any advice that anyone could give

thanks

James

Last edited: Apr 20, 2004
  2. Cedric BLANC

Cedric BLANC Guest

Hi, studying in central saint Martins college of art and design (london) on a foudation course. I am about to make an application for their famous BA in product design.
    I have the same ideas as you, wanting to design clever and stilish aspects of yacht. I am a keen sailor soon becoming instructor. I want to know if it is possible to join the southampton institute having no formal qualifications (I've not had a very typical education, most of it done in france).

3. vinceduf

vinceduf Junior Member