Critique about this boat design?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Titu, Dec 7, 2022.

1. Titu

Titu Junior Member

This is a traditional boat used around the coastal area in South Asia, especially in Bangladesh. I have traveled around the world and have seen a lot of inshore boats of different designs. But I don't understand how this boat is even practical in any kind of water.

Attached Files:

• boat.jpg
      boat.jpg
      File size:
      953.9 KB
      Views:
  2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Looks like a typical design for boats designed to launch and leave through surf.

bajansailor likes this.
  3. seasquirt

seasquirt Senior Member

Hi Titu, I'm no expert, but to me it looks ideal for pulling nets over the low freeboard sides, with the bow into very choppy shallow water; dodging a tropical rain storm under the 'cabin'; unloading at a beach where there are no wharfs or facilities or costs; and drying out safely while the catch goes to market. It may be a compromise of 'modern' engine in traditional hull material, and methods, but if it didn't work it wouldn't be used; fishermen don't want to waste their time or money. Maybe way back, they ran a junk rig, crab claw, lateen, or got poled along. It looks like bamboo along the gunnels, to take net wear, which is easily replaceable; and the rudder's nearly done a 180. It probably feeds many families, and has no safety equipment. It looks OK for a working boat I think.

bajansailor likes this.
  4. skaraborgcraft

skaraborgcraft Senior Member

You are from Nova Scotia, are you saying you see no similarities to this and a Dory?

A French lady (if i recall) sailed a similar boat from India to France, made from epoxy coated hessian/flax.

What is not practical about it?

5. Barry

Barry Senior Member

[​IMG]
    The hull shape is very close to the drift boats used on the Pacific Northwest rivers to fish for salmon and trout. Flat bottom with tapered entry and exit.