Cold Molding Advice

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by stuart, Jan 15, 2005.

1. stuart

stuart Junior Member

G"day
    I need some advice on cold molding a 31ft Carolina Angler from Ken Hankinson. I must let you know that I have never built a boat before, I'm set on building this boat so I'm woundering if any one has built this boat or one like it as a first timer, 2 is cold molding hard for the first timer,3 is Ken Hankinson a good boat desinger.

Thanks for any replys

Stuart
    Australia

2. I have had several conversations with him. Others have agreed with him. Me, he's OK. ----Have you READ all the construction advice he gives free of charge on his web site? Would you follow it? Would you call him with a question as soon as you have a problem? He does not know if you are a good beginner.--------31' boat is a BIG BIG boat to start as a first boat. You are asking a awfull lot of yourself. Pick on 12' to 16' as a first boat. You will finish it, learn a lot and then be ready for 31'. Good luck.

3. stuart

stuart Junior Member

yes to all of the above. Does he have a good reputation as a boat designer?

Stuart
    Australia

4. He is still in business and out of court or bankruptcy after all these years. Is George bush a good president? Any body think his designs are dangerous , please speak up.

5. stuart

stuart Junior Member

what are thoughts in a nut shell mate. Should I go for his design or not? I did as much looking on the web as possible on the guy, he apears to know his stuff teaching boat construction and design. What would you rate him out of 1 to 10 as a designer and boat builder.

Stuart
    Australia

6. I would use his kits.

7. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Most designs intended for home built construction are bigger compromises then other designs intended to be built by a skilled work force or as a production yacht.