Chaperral Signature 270

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Allan Buchan, Apr 26, 2006.

1. Allan Buchan

Allan Buchan New Member

I have just purchased a Chaperral Signature 270 at the London Boat Show and I wish to fit a silent generator to run the cooker, microwave and fridge.
    Is there someone out there that can advise me as to which generator to purchase and what power output I will need. I am pretty new to boating and am a little confused by advice I have received in the UK. As this is a Canadian boat I would prefer to hear from someone who has experience of this craft.

Regards

Allan Buchan

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Welcome to the forum, Allan.

There are a number of approaches to the problem of onboard gensets. One school of thought says to buy a generator that will handle all the loads you can conceive of using at once; another says get a small generator and use batteries and an inverter to power your gear.

I'm a fan of the latter option myself. Being in England, I imagine you also wouldn't mind a bit of cabin heating to extend the season into spring and fall. Take a look at this thread http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?t=11138&highlight=whispergen for mention of a little Stirling cycle generator/heater that might do what you're thinking of.

A few good deep-cycle batteries, wired correctly and with a decent charge controller, can last quite a while. The generator can slowly top them off, but you still have enough power on tap for the high-drain appliances. If you want 120/240 V AC power, an inverter is a good idea- Xantrex makes some of the best; always go a bit oversize.