Need help on Catamaran Design.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kharon, Oct 7, 2011.

1. kharon

kharon New Member

Hi Every1;

I am a last year student on mechanical engineering and as a class project have to design a catamaran form scratch. Well the problem being with that is i have no idea where to even begin.

I have looked everywhere for some research material and could only find Larsson's Yacth design. the book is good and all with some neat explanations but it doesn't involve multihulls. So this is my problem. The end result should have a;

Carrying capacity of 4 ppl + 100 kg of weight (this is as a baggage)

speed: 40knots (max)

how we achieve these is in our hands. I just cant let myself do a 2. rate design and i want this to be a good catamaran in the end.

So if any1 can point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Thnx

2. Sistrunk

Sistrunk Previous Member

Attached Files:

3. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

I assume you need to design a powercat?

otherwise you'll find 40 knots a VERY challenging design criterium!

Richard Woods of Woods Designs

www.sailingcatamarans.com

4. kharon

kharon New Member

Well i dont think my prof. considered that when he gave the assignment to us but why would it be a very challenging criteria? well in any case i am gonna check powercats now also. thnx

These are awesome ty.

5. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Get some magazines and search the interenet. Look for cat's doing 40knots of the size you're looking at. Look to see if there are dimensions that are common. Then just sue the most common dimensions as your starting point.

Then draw up your basic GA from the dimensions. So you'll need to know the size of engines/jets/props etc...seats...and then work out what the weight of all this would be. The only part that would be tricky for you would be the structure weight.