building a private small yacht

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by kuzea, May 17, 2008.

1. kuzea

kuzea New Member

hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in boat construction and I don't even have the required background - I'm actually a software engineer. But I have a general question:

how much would it take (time and money) to build a small private yacht?
    Basic requirements would be: diesel propulsion (max range up to 300miles), 2 persons bedroom, no extravagant luxury.

Thanks in advance,
    Nick.

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

the important info is needed,,,size,,material,buildings available,or outside,how many people working on construction,interior materials,exterior materials,,what kind of boat,,recreation,luxury,pilot house,man,,,you aint even close to getting even a ballpark figure without at least that info,,and theres actually ALOT more,,but,,these would get ya alot closer.,,,,,,,sorry, but the price of asking a question,,is getting asked bout 100 more before ya get any kind of an answer,,,hehe ;)
    oooo,,,and welcome to the forum ;)

3. kuzea

kuzea New Member

thx;

I need a very rough minimum - considering the fact that I would have to buy the engine for, let's say, a 10m long 4m large yacht (materials - respectively the least expensive).

4. kuzea

kuzea New Member

PS: I have seen some 5yr old yachts in this category being sold in Turkey for 90,000€.

5. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

How much you are willing to do? There's no upper limit but to give a "minimum" working hours I'd say 2000. If you have to learn the job by doing double it...
    Money? 10k/ton.. Again no upper limit..

6. safewalrus

safewalrus Ancient Marriner