Boat Worth Restoring? Advice Needed!!

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by AlvinM, Aug 10, 2016.

1. AlvinM

AlvinM New Member

I'm new to this and have no experience in boating. My father owns a fiberglass boat that is now 20+ years old and has not been used for the last 15 years or so.

I am considering outsourcing the restoration of this boat but am wondering if it is even worth it in the first place. The outboard motors will need to be replaced entirely and based on discussions with the 2 parties that I have talked to with regards to restoration, they said most of the repair work on the body will just be cosmetic as the fiberglass / structure is still in good condition.

I am afraid they they might just be saying this in order for me to engage their services in this boat restoration. Their estimated timeline is about 2-3 months. I am located in Indonesia and labour here is relatively cheap (in case this is a factor to consider).

I am also considering modifying the bow to a bow rider instead of having a covered cabin (which is rarely used).

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Unless you have a strong emotional attachment to the boat, or need an expensive hobby, run away from it. However, if you go ahead with the project, the first thing to do is to take all the rotted plywood out. That means you will have an empty hull. A good cradle is needed to keep the boat from deforming as you rebuild it.

3. Ike

Ike Senior Member

My answer, no. It will cost far more than the boat is worth, even in Indonesia. So if you rebuild it with the thought of some day selling it you will never get back the money you have put into it. You can probably find a good used boat that is in operating condition for far less than this would cost.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder