Clyde built boats of Detroit Michigan

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Hosey/ethel, Sep 17, 2007.

1. Hosey/ethel

Hosey/ethel Junior Member

Hey to all,

I live in Iowa and am currently trying my first restoration of a mid-1950 Clyde 16' runabout. It is hard to find any information about Clyde boatworks and their products, and I was wondering if anyone knew where I might look.

I am a true rookie and have greatly enjoyed reading all the posts, ideas and information on this site. Thanks to all.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I did some repairs on a Clyde, which sounds just like your boat. I had no luck finding information about them on line or through my usual sources, other then being out of Michigan. They seemed to use good materials and workmanship, though used a less then conventional planking method (in this country anyway). They're lightly constructed and the hull shape does pound noticeably in a chop. If yours still has the built up transom you should consider a plywood core/hardwood inner and outer skin, which will simulate the original exactly, but stabilize it and keep it from leaking. Other issues are the rubs and plugged limbers aft, preventing draining the boat through it's transom, which rots out the aft portions of the inner layer of planking. Because they're lightly built, the deck can crack easily, the hull can be breached easily and rot doesn't have to eat much before it's a major problem. Post some picture so we can compare notes.

3. jbowers417

jbowers417 Junior Member

sending pictures

I would love to. However every suggestion I've received on how to do this has failed.
    Salty

Moderator note added after the fact on 9/24/2007: See the Attachment FAQ for how to post pictures. Be sure your popup blocker is not blocking the new attachment window. If you still encounter issues send me a pm and I'll do my best to help.

4. Hosey/ethel

Thank You Par