Best Measurement Ruler Material?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by westlawn5554X, Aug 13, 2006.

1. westlawn5554X

westlawn5554X STUDENT

Hello,

I know I am a student thus having this simple choice still to think about, by the professional STD, the market offer rulers in various sizes and material. I was wondering which is the best to keep for the designer life time?

1. wood or bamboo
    2. Plastic
    3. Aluminium
    4. Metal

Please advise as it is still an invest and I would have it right.

Thnaks

Student

2. Wynand N

Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder

They are all OK, it's what you are comfortable with...
    By the way, my rulers are all wood, laminated with plastic on the outside.

3. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Transparent

Transparent rulers are handy, you can see the drawing you are working on through it in some cases this is a great benefit. I did see a glass ruler once but for practical reasons i'd go for plastic.

4. westlawn5554X

westlawn5554X STUDENT

I was scare that the wood might shrink or rot due to constant expose to wetness, the aluminium might buckle and the metal rust. Glass might break. They should have a special alloy that is dependant and laser eching.

I have seen tungsten Rapido some where in the net.

Student

5. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

1) A ruler is for children and non exact measurement such a carpentery. A scale is for measuring while drawing. Never touch a pencil or pen to a scale, thats what a straightedge is for.

2) Plastic and metal scales will change length with temperature; more so than wood/laminate (if you handle it daily a wood scale picks up your oils and develops a nice patina and doesn't dry out, but I would choose a laminate scale because the marks are crisper); but much, much less than velum or maylar (of course this is about true ships drawings that are 20 feet long, if you're trying to do a yacht on C or D size, then it won't matter much).