Advice on how to patch a hole in the hull needed please

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Oldgold, Jun 20, 2007.

1. Oldgold

Oldgold New Member

Hi there, I'm new to the forum and equally new to boat restoration or in my case, repair. I really need some advice on what the best method is on fixing this hole I have in the boats hull. I have no great experience in any kind of woodworking, and I don't have every type of snazzy powertools at hand.

The boat is a 16' sailing dinghy, performance-wise somewhere between a 470 and FD. Unfortunatly she's been lying dry for the past 6 years and what looked like a patched up repair in rotten wood has finally fell apart.

Money and knowledge/skill being an issue, there's no way for me to remove the 2 or 3 affected plywood planks and replace them so I'm going to have to patch it. My question is how the heck to go about this. I'm considering cutting a rectangular hole and fitting 6mm sipo-mahogany marine ply. The outside of the hull looks like it's covered with 2mm gelcoat, and I'd like to get both the inside and outside flush with the surrounding wood.

Here are a couple of pictures, I appreciate any advice. Thanks alot

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. frosh

frosh Senior Member

This looks like it probably isn't worth saving even if you had the money to spend, skills, and motivation. Maybe just ditch the hull and salvage any useful stuff for another future boat.

3. charmc

charmc Senior Member

All may not be lost. (Emphasis on "may") It looks like someone took the cheap and easy way out last time.