about maxsurf 13 on vista

Discussion in 'Software' started by rgnkn, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. rgnkn
    Joined: Dec 2009
    Posts: 5
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: İstanbul

    rgnkn Junior Member

    i use maxsurf 13 and my system is vista 32 bit.so when working on hydromax modul i cant render?!how i can solve this problem.i tried many things.finally i find this site..may be you can help me..
    i'm waiting for answers. thank you..
     
  2. rgnkn
    Joined: Dec 2009
    Posts: 5
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: İstanbul

    rgnkn Junior Member

    when i click render "problem with hydromax program" and then hydromax is closing.
     
  3. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 147, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    Early versions of Vista were well known for having problems with CAD software that used OpenGL. A lot of software written for WinXP, and a lot of software that took advantage of features added to OpenGL since version 1.4 (ie, anything newer than 2002 or so) will cause all sorts of rendering problems, degraded performance and/or unexplained app crashes under early versions of Vista.

    I've heard that a fully updated Vista SP1 machine should have most of these early issues resolved, likewise for Win7, but have not had the chance to mess around too much with either as of yet.

    I'm not a Maxsurf user, so I can't offer any more specific insight at the moment.
     
  4. mymind04
    Joined: Nov 2004
    Posts: 16
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NA

    mymind04 Junior Member

    I don't have that problem you had, i'm now using Maxsurf 13 on Win7.
     
  5. rgnkn
    Joined: Dec 2009
    Posts: 5
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: İstanbul

    rgnkn Junior Member

    vista sp2 i use..still problem continues..program closing itself when i studi to render
     
  6. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    No option to switch from hardware rendering (OpenGL) to software based rendering?
     
  7. zeroname
    Joined: Oct 2008
    Posts: 276
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 90
    Location: Europe

    zeroname Naval Architect

    i am using maxsurf 13 and Vista Home premium 32bit (genuine) ...and dont have any problem with rendering,..
    try to contact with formsys ( support@formsys.com ) if ur problem continues.. they can give u solution.
    Thanks
     
  8. JorgenBeyer
    Joined: Jan 2008
    Posts: 17
    Likes: 3, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 9
    Location: Southampton

    JorgenBeyer JorgenBeyer

    i know its a bit cheeky, but does anyone have a link for downloading Maxsurf torrent for free? i don't mind if its version 11. the ones i have tried have trojans and doesn't really work. its only for educational purposes and i will of course buy it when i start working.
    any ideas?
    thanks
     
  9. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 147, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    Hi Jorgen,

    Formation provides an academic version of Maxsurf, for free, to students who want to learn how to use the software. It is quite limited compared to the full commercial version, but is enough to learn how the modelling techniques work and to help you with relatively simple designs.
    See http://www.formsys.com/academic/maxsurf/

    As for pirated versions, linking to ***** sites is a violation of the forum rules ( http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/faq.php?faq=terms_of_use#faq_user_rights_and_responsibilities ) and would probably get anyone who tries it booted out of the forum. That's not to say there aren't pirate versions out there, but to be honest, the majority of ***** releases I've come across- in any field- are infected with some nasty thing or another. Unless you're really good at playing hunter-killer with rootkits and hiding your tracks from auditors, it's probably best to pick a legit way.
     
  10. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    Marsmat,

    You are right. I've noticed there are also "pirate" versions of Delftship available on the internet.
    Most of them are at least a hundred times bigger in file size than the original version.
    Don't want to know what's in there.......
     

  11. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 147, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    Not sure I want to know either, Martijn.

    But there's a similar phenomenon with most consumer software- a perception that good programs must be large, and small programs aren't good.
    On this particular machine, I currently have 180 MB of binaries running to scan for viruses that are only a few kilobytes each. It could be done with much less, but then it wouldn't have three hundred useless but flashy 'features'. Vista, when I've used it, often seems to be two gigabytes of OS and eleven gigabytes of assorted shiny crap.

    The Delftship core engine is what, three or four megabytes compiled? People prowling the 'net for software will come across it, read the description, see that it's a tiny little file, and figure "hey, something that powerful must be big, so this little thing is probably corrupted or missing pieces."
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.