85 Hp Johnson Hyd lift motor is Electrically "Open"

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by thudpucker, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    On my 85 Hp Johnson the lift/drop Hyd. Pump motor is "Open". No continuity between any of the wires going to the pump.

    Red #12 (power I think)
    Brown #12 (two of them, one for up other for down?
    Tan #10 (have no idea what that one does)
    I can't get the power cord disconnected right now, but maybe I can take the Electric motor off the Pump? Anybody know that?
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I wondered why the Start Sol wouldn't work.:p
    Look at the Crack in it. The whole thing broke in half at that Crack.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. michael pierzga
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 4,862
    Likes: 115, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1180
    Location: spain

    michael pierzga Senior Member

    What circuit tells the hydraulics that the motor is ...up position , motor down position ?

    Is there a lockout circuit to prevent unauthorized use ?

    Is an outboard motor an isolated earth system, two pole ...or is the motor chassis one pole...negative ?
     
  3. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    I have no Book. I dont know those things.
    My Plan is to take the Cylinder off and get that Wiring connecter off, then analyze the Wiring.
    I don't know how the motor knows to stop going up or down?
     
  4. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 148, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    Drawings and wiring info can be found on www.crowleymarine.com if you have the serial number or mfg year.
    The electric motor has isolated brushes because it runs in 2 directions. With one carbon brush stuck or broken, the circuit is open.
     
  5. harry cassin
    Joined: Jan 2012
    Posts: 48
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 28
    Location: Brisbane

    harry cassin Old Salt

    Does that picture show a broken solenoid ? I have not analysed why the motor knows when it's down or up, only that it will only go down so far, if you keep working the switch oil must bypass in the Ram motor,and if it didn't things would be broken pretty quick. What is the problem ? are the wires frayed that run into the ram motor or is it just a broken solenoid, take apart only what you have to and leave the rest alone, mark where everything go's and even take photo's if you have to. :) More pictures are allways better :)
     
  6. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    Thanks CDK.
    The photo of the Cracked solenoid is somthing I found when the starter wouldn't work. It has nothing to do with the Hydraulic motor problem. I should not have included that photo.

    The Hyd Motor is open. I have the wire harness out. Maybe today I'll take that motor end off to see what's wrong and what I can do about it.
    I disconnected the Lift Cylinder from the motor and blocked the motor up. (heavy bugger it is too)

    I'm slow and it's chilly here.
     
  7. harry cassin
    Joined: Jan 2012
    Posts: 48
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 28
    Location: Brisbane

    harry cassin Old Salt

    Whats wrong with the Ram motor ?
     
  8. thudpucker
    Joined: Jul 2007
    Posts: 885
    Likes: 31, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 453
    Location: Al.

    thudpucker Senior Member

    Dont know yet Harry. I'll get there sometime today.
    It's 'open' electrically. No continuity between any of the four leads.

    It's chilly, wet, and generally Mouldy in the attitude up here today.
    I'm just slow to get anything going.
    I'm getting pretty long in the tooth, so my 'up n' at em' ' is getting pretty slow to engage.
     
  9. harry cassin
    Joined: Jan 2012
    Posts: 48
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 28
    Location: Brisbane

    harry cassin Old Salt

    I read you :) I'm the same when it's cold, we had floods on floods here not so long ago and it felt like it had been raining forever, even when you breathed in, there was lots of moisture mixed in the air and i felt like i was slowly drowning , Glad thats gone. Do you have a relay that operates the Power/trim, is that ok.
     
  10. cor
    Joined: May 2008
    Posts: 114
    Likes: 10, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 85
    Location: Alaska

    cor Senior Member

    These kind of problems are almost always related to the brushes. They are worn out, stuck, corroded, etc.

    Any decent electrical shop should be able to sell you a replacement end cap with new brushes. Most of these electric motors are standard units that were used on lots of different applications.

    C.O.
    http://whatsintheshop.blogspot.com/
     

  11. harry cassin
    Joined: Jan 2012
    Posts: 48
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 28
    Location: Brisbane

    harry cassin Old Salt

    Good Call cor and as long as your armature is ok you should have no problem replacing the brushes yourself, it's not a big job, just a little care taken and your in business.
    And the chances of you armature having a problem is pretty much ZERO, were the brushes make contact you want to give that a light clean with some 1500 wet & dry,a very light clean.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.