50's elgin 14ft redo

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by oldspower_68, Jun 12, 2006.

1. oldspower_68

oldspower_68 Junior Member

I am new to boat building. this boat is probably not worth the repair but it was my gradfathers boat. i've read on posts about the epoxy sealers and the west system. I just wanted some info on how this stuff works. I know you put it between boards when installing them kinda of like a glue. but they talk about sealing the whole boat. is this what makes it waterproof. and what is the best stuff for the money. and do you have to do inside and out or just one coat on the inside and three on the exterior. I'm going to use 1/4" lauan.

one other question some of the solid wood on the interior like seat backs and the dash board and transome are mahogany. is the any alternitive woods that I could use on the interior that would work well with the lauan. that would be cheaper. and the framing is 2 sheets of 5ply mahogany put together could i use a pine plywood instead since it isn't seen. to save money.

any help would be appreciated dont know much about wood boats but this one has sentamental value to me
    by the way it is a 14ft elgin plywood construction

2. DanishBagger

DanishBagger Never Again

If I were you, I would go to http://www.westsystem.com/

I am not posting this link so I won't need answering, and I guess I could answer a few (with my limited knowledge), but there are so much information that is is good to know, and some that you _must_ know (safety), so the best place to start would be west epoxy's site.

Also, how "rotten" is it? Is it in good condition? If so, maybe you don't need to meddle with epoxies?

Epoxy is a sorts of plastics (when fully cured), so by "sealing" it, you are in fact encapsulating it in it's entirety in plastic. It _can_ be good, but not always - for instance, you don't want to put it over something that is moist..